Zhorn Software
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Go down
jean

Spinning ring and failure to launch Empty Spinning ring and failure to launch

Fri Jan 14, 2022 1:44 am
I've used Stickies for many years and even managed to transfer my notes to my new Windows 11 computer. (It replicated notes but otherwise worked fine.) Suddenly, a month in, it's not working. I can make it show desktop notes but it won't cooperate when I want to Manage Stickies, Settings, or do anything. "Not responding." "Encountered improper argument" came up on one try. I have reinstalled a couple of times. Toyed with uninstalling first but fear losing my database altogether and since I don't know really how I managed to transfer the notes I fear losing them. I'm not very technical!
OldGrantonian

Spinning ring and failure to launch Empty Re: Spinning ring and failure to launch

Fri Jan 14, 2022 10:30 am
jean wrote: 
I have reinstalled a couple of times. Toyed with uninstalling first but fear losing my database altogether 

I'm fairly sure that uninstalling ANY program does not automatically delete data. Either:

- The prog doesn't ask if you want to save. In that case, it will leave your data alone.
or
 - The prog asks, and you reply Yes/No.

Anyway it's easy to backup your notes. R-click on yellow icon in sys tray. Select "Stickies Help" > Backup > User backups

The paragraph after that shows you how to Restore.

After that, you can try uninstall followed by re-install.

BTW:  Is your Stickies version on Win 11 the same as you used on Win 10 on your old computer? If not, don't install the newer version on Win 11. 

Instead, do it in stages. In other words, install the same version as for Win 10. 

If all is OK, upgrade to the latest version of Stickies.

BTW2:  Don't give anyone your old computer. Keep it for a few months until you break in your new computer.